Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Blood Angels & Tyranids FAQ's released

So, today we saw the release of what was probably the dumbest FAQ ever written by Games Workshop. The Tyranid FAQ. Not only do some of the FAQ answers fly in the face of pre-established precedences, but some clearly written rules are just turned upside-down by a simple "yes" or "no" answer with no explanation as to why.

Now, the Blood Angels one is fairly decent yet it covers some really silly questions similar to other recent FAQ's. For example, no, you cannot use Descent of Angels on a Land Raider dedicated transport, or use multiple instances of Descent of Angels to reduce the scatter dice from 2d6 to 1d6 to 0d6. On the flip side, the FAQ boldly declares that the Blood Chalice on Sanguinary Priests only grants Furious Charge when the attacks that would benefit from it are actually rolled, not when the unit launches their assault.

Similarly, the Tyranid FAQ points out that you cannot single-out the Hive Tyrant or Swarmlord in shooting or assault when they are attached to Tyrant Guard, and it also states that you "can" deep-strike the Mawloc into enemy units, as if the rules weren't clear enough that you COULD in the first place.

I am very disappointed in Games Workshop for their latest attempt at "clarification" and "balance". They are morons, and surely have not play-tested any of the main rules, codex rules, or FAQ/Errata rulings that they've been making.

Shame on you, GW, if only your rules were as good as your model sculpts...

No comments:

Post a Comment